Key Department Dates for Students - AY 2021-2022
 

PhD Students:

Student Service Assignment Form – second Friday of the semester:
Friday, September 3, 2021
Friday, January 21, 2022
Use this Google Form.

Language Exams (PhD and MA students)
Friday, September 10, 2021
Friday, November 12, 2021
Friday, January 14, 2022
Friday, March 11, 2022
*French and German exam takers will have two hours; all other language exam takers will have three hours to complete their exams.
**A summer intensive translation course in GERMAN will be offered in early summer 2022. Students who pass the intensive course exam will satisfy the language requirement for German.
 
Comprehensive Exams
Fall 2021:
Exam #1 - Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Exam #2 - Friday, October 22, 2021
Exam #3 - Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Exam #4 - Friday, October 29, 2021

Spring 2022:
Exam #1 - Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Exam #2 - Friday, March 25, 2022
Exam #3 - Tuesday, March 29, 2022
Exam #4 - Friday, April 1, 2022

Teaching Request Form for AY2022-23 – first Friday of Spring 2022 semester:
Friday, January 14, 2022

Annual Report and Second Year Review – last day of class in Spring 2022 semester:
Tuesday, May 3, 2022
 
SECOND-Year MA Students:

Monday, October 18 2021:
Deadline to send Doodle Poll to Thesis Committee to arrange review meeting.

Friday, November 19, 2021:
FINAL deadline to hold student-arranged meeting with Thesis Committee to review progress.

Friday, March 11, 2022:
FINAL deadline to submit written Thesis to Advisor

Friday, April 15, 2022:
FINAL date to hold Oral Defense of written Thesis (to graduate in May 2022). An earlier defense date is encouraged. The final Thesis MUST be sent to the entire Thesis Committee no later than one week prior to the defense.
 

FIRST-Year MA Students:

Friday, April 8, 2022:
Thesis Prospectus due to Advisor

Friday, April 15, 2022:
Deadline to send Doodle Poll to Thesis Committee for Prospectus Approval Meeting.
One week prior to meeting (no later): Annual Report and final Prospectus due to Committee and Director of MA Studies.

Tuesday, May 3, 2022:
FINAL date to hold MA Prospectus Approval Meeting.
 

ALL Students:

GEM Certificate Request - Tuesday, February 1, 2022
The form is found here: https://reli.rice.edu/gem-requirements
You may fill out the Request for GEM Certificate if your last required course(s) is/are pending (being taken in spring 2022) - ALL other requirements must be completed upon submission.

NOTE: Students are responsible for meeting program deadlines. Any reminders are a courtesy only. Consult the Academic Calendar for other key dates pertaining to all students: https://registrar.rice.edu/calendars.