Rice University Department of Religion

Graduate Students

Below are the department's current graduate students along with their areas of concentration.

Name & Email   Area of Study
Justine Bakker
justine.bakker@rice.edu
  African American Religion; Gnosticism, Esotericism, and Mysticism (GEM)
Reyhan Erdogdu Basaran
re4@rice.edu
  Sunni-Shiite polemics
Elliot Berger
elliot.r.berger@rice.edu 
  Dissertation topic: Billy Graham and the Age of Anxiety
Linda Ceriello 
lcc2@rice.edu  
  Dissertation topic: The Accidental Mystic: Contemporary Narratives of Wester Secular Spiritual Encounters  
Sharde Chapman
sc56@rice.edu
  African American Religious Studies
Simon Cox
spc4@rice.edu
  Gnosticism, Esotericism, and Mysticism (GEM)
DeAnna Daniels
DeAnna.M.Daniels@rice.edu
 Jessica Davenport 
jbd3@rice.edu
  Dissertation topic: Multiplicity in Text and Image: Carrie Mae Weems' Visual Art and the Quest for Complex Subjectivity
Cindy Dawson
cynthia.dawson@rice.edu  
  Bible & Beyond
Mark DeYoung
md33@rice.edu
  African American Religion
Matthew Dillon  
mjdillon@rice.edu
  Dissertation topic: The Gnostic Renaissance: The Nag Hammadi Library in American Religion and Culture
Learned Foote
Learned.M.Foote@rice.edu
   
Jason Ford
jason.ford@rice.edu
  Bible & Beyond
Renée Ford
renee.l.ford@rice.edu
  Buddhist Thought; Gnosticism, Esotericism, and Mysticism (GEM)
Biko Gray 
bmg2@rice.edu
  Dissertation topic: Making-Life-Matter: a Philosophical Theory of African American Religion
Timothy Grieve-Carlson
trg4@rice.edu
Emerson Zora Hamsa
emerson.zora.hamsa@rice.edu
  African American Religion
Rebecca Harris
rh32@rice.edu
  Bible & Beyond
Nathanael Homewood
njh2@rice.edu
  African Religions
Itohan Mercy Idumwonyi 
 imi1@rice.edu
  African Religion, Gender Influence on Contemporary Nigerian Christianity
Oihane Iglesias Telleria
Oihane.Iglesias.Telleria@rice.edu
Jason Jeffries
joj1@rice.edu
  Dissertation topic: More than Skin Deep: African American Religion and the Aesthetics of Body Modification 
Bradley Johnson
bmj3@rice.edu
  African Religions
Abdulbasit Kassim
abdulbasit.kassim@rice.edu
  Islamic Studies, African Religions
Justin Kelley
justinkelley@rice.edu
  Buddhist Thought
David Kline
David.A.Kline@rice.edu 
  African American Religious Studies 
Minji Lee 
ml20@rice.edu
  Dissertation topic: The Medieval Woman's Body: Evil and Holy
Benjamin Mayo
benjamin.j.mayo@rice.edu
  Gnosticism, Esotericism, Mysticism (GEM)
Victor Nardo
vn13@rice.edu
  Gnosticism, Esotericism, Mysticism (GEM); Modern Christianity in Thought & Popular Culture
Anne Parker 
aop1@rice.edu
  Contemplative Studies, Buddhist Thought
Gregory Perron
gregory.perron@rice.edu
  Gnosticism, Esotericism, Mysticism (GEM); Religion & Psychology
Erin Prophet
eprophet@rice.edu 
   American Metaphysical Religion, Millennialism, New Religions
Waleed Rikab
waleedrikab@rice.edu 
Mark Schmanko
ms85@rice.edu 
  Philosophy of Religion, Anthropology, and History of Religions 
C.J. Schmidt
schmidt@rice.edu
  Bible & Beyond
Tommy Symmes
tommysymmes@rice.edu
  Religion & Psychology; Gnosticism, Esotericism, Mysticism (GEM)
Ross Tieken
ross.a.tieken@rice.edu
  Modern Christianity in Thought & Popular Culture
Cleve V. Tinsley IV
cvt4@rice.edu  
  African American Religious Studies, Religion and Identity
Rachel S. Vlachos
rsv2@rice.edu
  Dissertation topic: The Ethics of Whiteness: Race, Religion and Social Transformation in Contemporary South America
Elizabeth Wallett
wallett@rice.edu 
  Dissertation topic: Visionaries of the Longchen Nyingthig: Threads of Experience and Rebirth